Event: Stibbington Cross   Add this to my calendar (Outlook etc.)

Date: Sunday, 28 November 2004

Promoter: Fenland Clarion CC

Contact: Steve Clarke 01733 252595 steve@fenlandclarion.co.uk

Location: Bradshaws Quarry, Stibbington, near Peterborough. Off B671, Stibbington to Elton road. Turn left off A1 (from south) just after Nene Valley Railway. Click here for a map. Click the grey arrows at the bottom right of the map to see a detailed version.

Report: Well done to Fenland Clarion CC for managing to find a replacement venue at the last minute to put on a challenging race. And well done to Linsday’s Mum for bringing an insulated tea urn so we could have hot drinks all morning. It stayed dry while we erected the registration tent at Stibbington quarry. The Easy-up construction was tested to its limits. The roof had to be weighted down to avoid it becoming a course hazard. It was the fearless and the daft who braved the weather to come riding today. Carl Harris had an easy win in the Youth race. Joe Perrett put in a commendable performance to come in second. Matthew Cook had a lacklustre day, which Luke Newby took full advantage of. Luke had his best race of the season so far, looking strong and powerful throughout the race.

Hugo Robinson zipped through the Under 12’s field like a dose of salts. Kids’ training sessions from Nathan Miller are paying dividends already. Andrew Philips got full marks for effort, but still finished a lap down. Sam Bores also did well to come in third. At the tail end of the race there was an exciting final uphill sprint to the finish between Daniel Grammatica and Conor Barry, but Conor was so excited by Daniel actually racing him up the hill, that he stopped to watch Daniel cross the line. Conor got the Best Continuous Smile award. What a great effort by all the Under 12’s.

By this time the ground was well churned up. We squelched our way round the viewing points. And it was getting colder and wetter. Yes, it was true cyclo-cross weather. In the Senior race Carl Davey had a commanding lead over an in-form Nathan Miller. Perhaps Karen made an extra special breakfast this morning because Ian Newby was in fine fettle to match his son’s third place. James Jackson had an emphatic win over Daniel Parker to take the Junior race. In the Veteran race Mark Farrow took an early lead, which he maintained throughout the race. Dave Copland punctured allowing Geoff Bores to sneak past him and capture second place. Chris Gooch was renamed “Ouchie” after a rather hard remount. He soon recovered at the threat of Lindsay’s magic sponge. I’d better not mention Paul Harris today. Claire Larbey had an easy win over Ironwoman Debbie Knott to take the Ladies honours. Perhaps if the race had been preceded by a 2 mile swim and followed by a marathon the result would have been different.


Sen/Jun/Vet/Women        Lap-o-meter        League table        Youth        Under 12

11Carl DaveySenUnattached10 laps in 47:47
212Nathan MillerSenAnglia Sport+0:17
33Ian NewbySenDiss & District CC+0:33
413Carl ThompsonSenXRT/Elmy Cycles+1:13
516Greg SimcockSenXRT/Elmy Cycles+1:18
64Nick AinsworthSenJames Hay RT+3:24
75Shaun AldousSenInterbike/Boyer Planning/Chateau Wines/The Essex/Veloschils.com+3:56
861Mark FarrowVetVC Norwich/Fitt Signs+1 lap +0:16
964Geoff BoresGrand/VetLea Valley Youth CC+1 lap +2:16
1062Dave CoplandVetIpswich BC+1 lap +2:26
1137Richard GreenSenUnattached+1 lap +3:21
1286Julian ParkerVetIpswich BC+1 lap +4:43
1380Bruce RobinsonGrand/VetShaftesbury CC+1 lap +5:09
149Neil StevensSenEastern Region Velo/Bianchi UK+1 lap +5:49
15126James JacksonJunLee Valley Youth CC+2 laps +0:02
1665John TerrellSen/VetIpswich BC+2 laps +0:10
1763Chris JillingsSen/VetIpswich BC+2 laps +0:19
1838Stuart MainSenGodric CC+2 laps +0:35
1939Mark CarlessSenCLIMB ON BIKES RT+2 laps +1:07
20104P AsplinVetBoys From The Fat Stuff+2 laps +1:50
21124Daniel ParkerJunIpswich BC+2 laps +3:07
2233Mark WyerSenLondon Phoenix+2 laps +3:10
2318Russell MillerSenBoys From The Fat Stuff+2 laps +3:48
2466Robert SmithSen/VetIpswich BC+2 laps +4:03
2543Steve WaltersSenUnattached+2 laps +4:16
2636Martin HollandSenEly & District+2 laps +5:38
2769Paul HarrisVetEastern Region Velo/Bianchi UK+2 laps +6:11
2844Dave McNamaraSenFenland Clarion+2 laps +7:11
29100G BrewsterVetEly & District+3 laps +0:13
30102Chris GoochVetJames Hay RT+3 laps +0:22
3141Paul SmithSenIpswich BC+3 laps +2:40
3289Paul BarryVetIpswich BC+3 laps +2:52
3395Paul TurnerMast/VetIpswich BC+3 laps +3:37
34101Andrew ArdenVetNorwich ABC+3 laps +5:55
3593Dennis ReeveGrand/VetEastern Region Velo/Bianchi UK+4 laps +1:10
3679Simon LarbeySen/VetMildenhall CC+4 laps +3:06
3740Martin ArdenSenClapthorn BC+4 laps +6:29
38136Claire LarbeyLadyMildenhall CC+5 laps +1:15
39139Debbie KnottLadyBedfordshire Road CC+6 laps +2:24
-7Michael DunnSenUnattachedDNF
-29Craig BeechSenInterbike/Boyer Planning/Chateau Wines/The Essex/Veloschils.comDNF
-42Ian HirstSenSt Ives CCDNF
-75Alan ChapmanGrand/VetMildenhall CCDNF

Youth        Lap-o-meter        League table        Sen/Jun/Vet/Women        Under 12

12Carl HarrisYouthEastern Region Velo/Bianchi UK5 laps in 28:11
25Joseph PerrettYth/U14Lee Valley Youth CC+2:06
311Luke NewbyYth/U14Diss & District CC+4:45
413Matthew CookYth/U14Mildenhall CC+5:45
54Mark ChapmanYouthMildenhall CC+6:10
619Dale JacksonYth/U14Lee Valley Youth CC+1 lap +0:01
715Hannah RobinsonYth/Girl/U14Ipswich BC+2 laps +0:08

Under 12        Lap-o-meter        League table        Sen/Jun/Vet/Women        Youth

111Hugo RobinsonU10Ipswich BC10 laps in 12:01
222Andrew PhilipsU12Mildenhall CC+1 lap +0:17
31Sam BoresU12Lee Valley Youth CC+1 lap +1:02
423Oscar SmithU12Peterborough Phantoms+2 laps +0:27
510Lewis ParkerU10Ipswich BC+2 laps +0:28
68James ArdenU10Norwich ABC+2 laps +0:49
725Ted DaviesU12Fenland Clarion+3 laps +0:13
818Jonathon BarryU12Ipswich BC+3 laps +0:59
924Daniel GrammaticaU12Fenland Clarion+3 laps +1:38
1019Conor BarryU8Ipswich BC+5 laps +1:39

Back to fixture list